How Indian districts have been classified into Red, Orange and Green COVID19 zones?


The Indian government extended lockdown by another two weeks and has created COVID19 zones. Lockdown 3.0 is slightly liberal compared to the previous two. The entire nation consists of 733 districts is divided into three zones, namely – red, orange, and green based on the intensity of corona positive cases in that region. The Indian health ministry identified around 130 districts as red zones, 284 districts as orange zone and 390 districts as a green zone.

The classification is based on the number of cases reported in the last 21 days, the number of active cases, the doubling rate of the cases, and the extent of testing.

Ministry has guided that, the state administration is allowed to assess the situation in their districts in upcoming days and have to take necessary action.

List of activities prohibited throughout the country during lockdown 3.0

All aerial transportation services including both domestic and international air travel passengers except for medical services, air ambulance, and security purposes are all prohibited.

All passengers’ movement by train is not allowed.

Inter-state transportation through public transport has stopped.

Metro rail services

Interstate movement of individuals

All public gatherings like shopping malls, cinema halls,  gym, sports events, theatres, bar, auditorium assembly halls are going to be kept closed.

All coaching institutes, schools, colleges, universities, tuition centres need to remain shut.

Let look at what are the provisions and prohibition in respective zones.

1.Red zone:
The activities which will remain shut:

Malls, salons, spas, Barbershops, public transport, cabs, taxis, and auto-rickshaws transportation is prohibited.

The list of reliefs:

Offices can open with one-third of the staff at non-hotspot regions.

The people can use four-wheeler with the driver and two passengers and two-wheeler without a pillion is allowed.

The retail shop can open, and all eCommerce are allowed to serve only essential services.

The special economic zones, export-oriented units, and industrial estates that fall under the red zone can restart their work.

The commodities which come under the essential commodities act and respected industries can begin work.  Which are mainly consists of medical devices and pharmaceuticals?

IT hardware industries, packaging industries, jute industries, and manufacturing industries can resume their work provided that safety guidelines are to be followed.

The other agricultural activities, animal husbandry, and construction works can restart their work, with in-situ workers only.

2. Orange zone:
The list of activities allowed:

All the economic activities which are resumed in the red zone are permitted in the orange zone.

Passengers are allowed to move within the district for essential purposes and permitted activities.

In two-wheelers, pillion riding is allowed.

3. Green zone:
The list of activities allowed:

All the activities which are resume in red and orange zone can also open in the green zone.

In green zones public transport can operate with 50% seating capacity and respective public transport departments can work with up to 50% capacity.

All shops in rural areas and stand-alone shops in urban areas, liquor shops, and tobacco shops, OPD, medical clinics e-commerce can open.

All these shops should maintain social distance and follow the health activist guidelines.

We shall be updating the number based on the released data.Stay tuned.